D-Day + 5 : Surviving Meatless Moscow

48 days later …

Or so. I lost count. Dates are not my strong point.

March 18th, 2O13

I became a vegan for orthodox Lent (the only time of the year you can get vegan food everywhere in Moscow), mainly inspired by the long grey and unrelenting winter, lack of sunlight and lack of an inspiration. Deadlines inspire me.

May 5th, 2013

I met my deadline. No meat for the whole of orthodox Lent. A whole 48 days. Or so. And I am still alive. So naturally on Easter Sunday, a.k.a. May 5th, I and many other locals headed to the shop.

Shoppers gradually filled their trolleys with cottage cheese, eggs, beer, vodka, milk, potatoes, yoghurt, and some more cottage cheese…. and sausages.

I, on the other hand, did not.

And I felt nothing. Not even a twinge. I never craved the meat I “gave up”. I  was not flummoxed by a dairy desire. I may have inadvertently slipped up once or twice. Anyone who tells you they didn’t is lying. The truth of the matter is that I feel great.

So there you have it. 48 days later and I have decided to prolong my experiment.

Indefinitely.

2 thoughts on “D-Day + 5 : Surviving Meatless Moscow

  1. Hello there, I just found your blog. I would love to go to Russia next year for maybe to do my master degree. I am from Brazil but have been living in the US for 11 years.

    Funny enough, I have been vegetarian (90% vegan, I eat eggs twice a month max) for over 3 years.

    I haven’t seen any new blog posts from you and was wondering if everything is fine with you. I’d like to get to know more about Russia.

    Please if you see this message, contact me.

Leave a Reply

