Crumbly Apricot & Orange Buckwheat Cake with Grapefruit Glaze

CakeImprovising life has it’s good sides and it’s bad sides. On the plus side, I live in Russia, on the minus side, I have the concentration span of a gold fish. Instructions bore me. So it will come to you, my lone reader, as no surprise that I have long shied away from the path of all that is delicate and baked, preferring the heat of the stove top instead.

Until today.

Today I decided to make these orange and cranberry muffins – minus the cranberries, the muffin tray, the canola oil and functional oven. And this is what happened…

A moist and crumbly cake topped with delightful deliciousness.

APRICOT & ORANGE BUCKWHEAT CAKE

Recipe

Ingredients:

Dry…

1 cup plain flour

2/3 cup brown sugar or preferred -cose

1 cup buckwheat flour

2.5 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 salt

Wet…

1 cup orange juice fresh squeezed orange

1/2 cup coconut oil (refined)

1 1/4 cup dry apricots soaked over night so they are nice and plump

1 wooden spoon apricot juice from soaking

Instructions

1- Before you start: Grease cake mould (I used a standard size medium tin with a hole in the middle a.K.a. a tube pan) and heat oven to 375°F

2 – Mix all dry ingredients

3- Make well in centre pour in all wet ingredients except apricots and their juice

4- Stir until dry ingredients are moist adding in apricots half way – Add spoon of apricot juice if not moist enough

5- Empty into greased try and gently press down until dough covers pan

6- Bake for about 20 – 30 min, until the knife point comes out ‘clean’ (no cake mix, but a little bit of moist residue is fine)

7- Remove from pan – careful, it must be treated with the same respect animals deserve.

8- Try and leave to cool on wire tray rack – or wooden chopping board if you are destitute like me

GRAPEFRUIT GLAZE 

Ingredients:

1 pack of silken tofu

4 tsp of freshly squeezed grapefruit juice – orange works too

4 tablespoons brown sugar

Instructions:

1- Blend until smooth

2- Spread generously over cooled cake

3- Eat

3 thoughts on “Crumbly Apricot & Orange Buckwheat Cake with Grapefruit Glaze

  1. I read that first part as “the contraception span of a goldfish” which I had to ponder for a while. Anyway, you always post the best food — when it’s not so hot I want to make this!

  2. :))))) this comment has made my day. Someone even asked me for the recipe at work. what a warm fuzzy feeling!! (I have been using my colleagues as testers, much to their delight …
    It is better to keep it covered in a shady cool spot of your flat, I had to put it in the fridge. It was still good but it got a bit denser and the icing was a bit less creamy.

Leave a comment